RINL employees bag Vishwakarma Rashtriya Puraskar :    17-Sep-2015     View PDF

RINL, the corporate entity of Visakhapatnam Steel Plant continues its march-past towards excellence, by bagging two Class-C (LMMM and SMS-1) VRP awards (Performance year 2013) for innovative suggestions for the ninth year in succession. The award carries a cash prize of Rs 25,000/- each. Sri Bandaru Dattatreya, Hon’ble Union Minister of State for Labour & Employment (Independent Charge) presented the awards to eight employees who gave two innovative suggestions and implemented them, at a function held in New Delhi. The employees are :  S/Sri B Nagesh Kumar(LMMM),  K Ramesh (LMMM),  V V Karunakara Rao (LMMM), V Venkateswara Rao (LMMM), B Koti Reddy (SMS-1), V Eswara Rao (SMS-1), B V Naidu (SMS-1), P Pydi Raju (SMS-1).

 Congratulating the employees for the achievement, Sri P Madhusudan, CMD, RINL  said that VSP employees have always been known for innovation in improving the working and in bringing laurels to the organization.  LMMM employees  Developed a method to accelerate the speed of material issue to WRM at Billet Storage Yard-LMMM, while Steel Melt Shop-1 employees modified of Rotary union for radial part TK Stand.  Background of VRP: Vishwakarma Rashtriya Puraskar (VRP) is a National Award Scheme instituted by the Ministry of Labor and  Employment, Govt.of India for the workmen in industries. It recognizes and rewards the workers and supervisors every year, for their innovative suggestions resulting in higher efficiency, productivity, quality, safety & working conditions, house-keeping and import substitution at enterprise level.  The applications are evaluated by a thirty member committee at national level based on criteria like Originality, Applicability / Utility of the suggestion, Level / Skill band of employees involved, Safety & Working Conditions and Benefits accrued out of implementation etc. Every year there are 10 nominations from RINL. Sri A. K. Makhija, GM(Liaison) I/c, and Sri H. M. Sehgal, AGM(Liaison), Sri S. Srihari Rao, AGM(M)-LMMM, Sri. D. Vivekanand, DM(M)-SMS-1 and other present at the function.